Usyk Defeats Fury, Becomes Undisputed Heavyweight Champion

May 19, 2024
1 month
Usyk Defeats Fury, Becomes Undisputed Heavyweight Champion

Oleksandr Usyk is the Undisputed Heavyweight Champion, beating Tyson Fury in a split decision. 

The win made the Ukrainian the first to do so since Lennox Lewis beat Evander Holyfield in 1999. Usyk scored a knockdown in round nine, which proved critical. The first two rounds were all Usyk. The Ukrainian’s southpaw jab was pushing Fury backwards, as Usyk took control of the centre. A big left over the top caught Fury, who struggled early on. 

Rounds three and four were much better for Fury. The Gypsy King found his jab, which peppered Usyk. He targeted the body as Usyk was slowing down. Fury was in control, showboating to the crowd, as the momentum was in his favor. Usyk was struggling with the size difference, with Fury picking him off. 

Usyk made the necessary adjustments as he picked up the pace. Usyk’s footwork was closing the gap as he backed up Fury with his southpaw stance. A huge left rocked Fury in the eighth round, as it landed near Fury’s right eye. That began bleeding.

Usyk then rocked Fury in the ninth round with another big left. Fury covered up as Usyk threw combinations on the ropes. Fury was rocking around the ring, hitting the ropes, as the referee began the count. The Gypsy King was saved by the bell, somehow surviving. That changed the fight, with Fury on the defensive.

Usyk was peppering Fury, who needed a big last round. But it was all Usyk, whose left hand landed continuously, as he took the decision: 115-112, 113-114, 114-113. The fighters received a huge applause after the bell. In the post-fight comments, Usyk’s manager, Alex Krassyuk, felt Fury was lucky not to get stopped. Fury, however, felt he did enough to win. 



Full Card

Oleksandr Usyk def. Tyson Fury via a split decision (115-112, 113-114, 114-113)

Jai Opetaia def. Mairis Briedis via a unanimous decision (117-111, 116-112, 116-112)

Anthony Cacace def. Joe Cordina via an eighth-round knockout

Agit Kabayel def. Frank Sanchez via a seventh-round knockout

Moses Itauma def. Ilja Mezencev via a second-round knockout

Mark Chamberlain def. Joshua Oluwaseun Wahab via a first-round knockout

Robin Sirwan Safar def. Sergey Kovalev via a unanimous decision (97-92, 99-90, 95-94)

David Nyika def. Michael Seitz via a sixth-round knockout

Find all the latest boxing news and MMA breaking updates on