Catterall Avenges The Taylor Loss With A Unanimous Decision Win

May 26, 2024
2 months
Catterall Avenges The Taylor Loss With A Unanimous Decision Win

Jack Catterall banished the memories of his 2022 loss to Josh Taylor with a unanimous decision victory.

Catterall lost a split decision the first time in a fight where most of the boxing community felt the Brit had won. Catterall used his jab to pin Taylor on the back foot. A left hook landed on Taylor, followed by another left. Taylor got through with a right hand, but it was a dominant Catterall round.

The jab continued to trouble Taylor. Both fighters clashed heads, resulting in a talking from the referee. Taylor hit the midsection but was being picked off by Catterall. Taylor hit back in the third with a big left that caught Catterall’s attention, who had swelling over his left eye.

Catterall had a better fourth round, with a left down the pipe and a double jab. Catterall used the jab to set up the left, which pierced Taylor’s defence, who had swelling over his right eye. Catterall got stronger in the fifth and sixth rounds. His jab staggered Taylor, which was accompanied by a left-right combination. A huge uppercut buzzed Taylor on the ropes, with the Scot firmly behind on the scorecards.

Taylor upped the ante in the seventh. He connected with a right hook and a left to the midsection. Catterall’s pace became slower. His jab and left hand fell short as Taylor attempted to close the distance. Heading into the championship rounds, Taylor needed a grandstand finish. However, Catterall took control with a big round 11. He landed two big lefts on Taylor, who was visibly hurt. The two fighters swung until the bell, but it was Catterall who got the decision: 117-111, 116-113 and 117-111. The scorecard divided the boxing community, with some feeling it was too wide. Meanwhile, Bob Arum bashed the judges, stating Taylor had won.



Full Card

Josh Taylor def. Jack Catterall via a unanimous decision; Super Lightweight

Cheavon Clarke def. Ellis Zorro via an eighth-round KO; Cruiserweight

Paddy Donovan def. Lewis Ritson via a ninth-round TKO; Welterweight

Gary Cully def. Francesco Patera via a unanimous decision; Lightweight

Giorgio Visioli def. Sergio Odabai via a fourth-round TKO; Lightweight

George Liddard def. Graham McCormack via a first-round KO; Middleweight

Leli Buttigieg def. Ana Isarti via a points decision; Super Welterweight

Find all the latest boxing news and MMA breaking updates on